Home » Uncategorized » |Valentine’s Mantel 2014|

|Valentine’s Mantel 2014|

Valentine’s Day is right around the corner and I wanted to get a jump start on decorating the mantel.  Woo hoo!

As you may start to notice, I’m a little obsessed with decorating our mantel. Tee hee. I kinda like it. *wink*

I don’t have very many Valentine’s Day decorations, so I think I’ll get crafty! … with the help from my good old pal Pinterest!! I want to show how easy it is to have a nicely decorated space, without breaking the bank!! I will try to re-use and DIY as much as possible. It’s so rewarding to see a beautifully finished product that was done under budget! YES!!!

Here’s some of my inspiration from Pinterest:

6b7023eee27ea04ded76d317270ed7b4    df3ea646e73844ddffb22e07425f3e85

After a few helpful ideas, I was inspired and ready to get started.

…A quick stop at Michael’s craft store.

image_2_edited

Eek! I love that store! Dangerous. Okay- Let’s get our craft on!

BEFORE:

before

Ooh! I’m so excited about this next pic!!  -Okay so this empty picture frame was snatched up from Goodwill a couple years ago. I took the picture and glass out of it, painted it white, and used it as a prop for wedding pictures. Since then (2012) it’s sat in our storage unit, waiting to come in handy once again. Today’s the day!!!  Talk about re-using!!

picture frame: FREE

bare mantel

Next I needed to put something inside this huge frame.. I decided to hang a Valentine’s Day wreath in the center. The cardboard wreath template was only $2.99 and the smaller red roses were $6.99, but I used a 40% off coupon- all from Michael’s! The white roses (once again) are leftovers from some old wedding crafts! Score!   :^}

fg

m      yyt

I stuck the mini roses in the wreath randomly to fill in space.

r

I’ve only spent about $10 so far!!

q

Next, I made a fun garland out of mini pom-pom balls, sheet music, and twine! The twine I already had and the sheet music I found at Goodwill for $.99!! After I bought the pom-poms, this garland cost less than $5.00!

image_17

image_18

I ended up not using the mini clothes pins. They weighed it down too much.

image_22

First the mini pom-poms.                                                               Then a couple hearts.

image_19           image_21

I think this little garland turned out perfect. Simple and pretty.

image_25

What do you think?

image_24

I still haven’t used the little sign that says “love”… hhhmmm….

image_26

I found a little bit of mini pom-pom garland that I had left over from a Handmade Holiday Craft Club!! Thank you Jenn!!

image_11

Next I found another, smaller frame that wasn’t being used. (It’s always good to stock up on a few of these kinds of items when thrift store shopping or hitting up garage sales. I grab things I know I’ll use later!!)

I used some fabric to fill in the frame. Once again, those awesome crafty chicks hooked me up! At this last craft club meeting, each person had a “swag bag” full of goodies, our name tag, pencils, acrylic paint, candy, and this cute fabric. It was the perfect size for this project!! Thanks crafters!!

I spread out my fabric and ironed out the wrinkles… Never mind the 1970’s iron okay?!

x

Easy as…

one                                                                         two                                                   three

s    l    u

Check out this cute little cherub who jumped in my cart at Goodwill. Brand new….. $3.99!!! I know. I know. I totally scored.

image_16

Now for the finished product:

jhil

image_28

p

2014

2014

Remember how I said the large frame was originally used in our wedding? Take a closer look at the picture frame on the mantel…

76ri

Photo courtesy of Elysian Images -Copyright 2012 Elysian Images Photography

Well that’s it! (for now)… I’m already working on one last piece for this Valentine’s Mantel, but the mod-podge is still drying.. so you’ll have to wait!!

Thank you for stopping by!

Ash

One thought on “|Valentine’s Mantel 2014|

Leave a Reply

