Home » Uncategorized » [[Home Renovation 2014]]

[[Home Renovation 2014]]

Happy New Year to all you out there!!! I hope you’re as excited for 2014 as I am!! While reflecting on what I wanted to do, I realized I have a lot I want to get done this year. Our cozy home is starting to get super duper cramped with the welcoming of our first child. We’ve completely ran out of room. I decided I would devote this year to home renovations, updates, de-cluttering and whatever else I needed to do, in order to get it ready to sell in the near future.  We need to replace some old appliances and have a few repairs as well. I figure it will take me most of the year to check everything off my list which gives me plenty of time. I sat down with my husband and explained my plan. I told him I wanted to de-clutter and do some updating, and then we’d be ready to move to a newer home with more space. He was surprisingly receptive. With the hubs on board, I set out to complete my first mission… De-cluttering!! Now, I’m not talking about going through a few clothes. No.No. No.  I went through everything: clothes, shoes, jewelry, belts, purses, gloves, socks, towels, linens, baby clothes, china, stuff in the attic, you name it. It felt incredible to PURGE!!

My thought has always been, “Everything has a place. If it doesn’t, then it doesn’t belong in my space.”

I had clothes I haven’t worn in many years. What’s that all about? Pathetic, I know. It’s the ‘ol, ” Hey I may use this someday.” mentality. Well that holds true for only a short while. Before long, you become a “pack rat”. Purge baby purge. It was time to utilize our storage unit… and make a run to the Goodwill!!

So far there’s been 2 huge loads to the storage unit, and one to Goodwill. Ahhhhh… feels better to have a little elbow room. This really did make a world of difference.

Home Renovation 2014 is officially underway!

Check back in for more posts throughout the year as we update our home. :^}

XOXOXO

Ash

Leave a Reply

