Home » Uncategorized » {{Be Mine Letter Blocks}}

{{Be Mine Letter Blocks}}

Hello! Today I’m showing you another Valentine’s Day decor piece I made, Be Mine letter blocks.

Of course, my crafty adventure started with a trip to Michael’s store!!(There are a couple other good craft stores I could go to, but I usually prefer Michael’s. I know where everything is. I run in, then out!) I was very disappointed at the selection this time though…  They have wooden letters in several fonts and sizes, but I couldn’t find the letter “I” !  As I grabbed my letters, B-E-M… dang it! Where are all the “I’s”?   Hummph. :^{

Since I couldn’t find all the letters I needed, I decided  to forget this idea and move on. I just gathered the things I needed (for other projects) and headed to the checkout line.

So, you ever find it funny how retail stores set up racks of discounted items right in front of the checkout line?! Hhhmmm. How strategically placed these “amazing bargain items” are! Surely this is a once in lifetime deal so I must buy now …right? ha! They really try to get ya. I’m such a sucker for those clearance bins.

I browsed while waiting in line, and found big block letters! Exactly what I needed for my Valentine’s Be Mine letter blocks idea. Unfortunately, again there wasn’t an “I” (what’s the deal?!). Ugh! They have all the other letters!!

-|Here’s my project|-

Supplies:

  • letters
  • paint
  • Mod Podge glue
  • 2 brushes (1 for paint, 1 for Mod Podge)
  • scissors
  • scrapbook paper
  • pencil

Each letter was $1.50.

image_1

I didn’t like the bright colors so I painted the sides and tops a soft blue.

IMG_6146

image_4 image_3

Then I traced letters onto scrapbook paper and cut out.

image_10

image_5

image_6

image_7

Mod Podge time! First, I applied a thin coat of the Mod Podge on the letter. Then I added letter cutout and held pressure. Next, I spread a thin layer of Mod Podge on scrabook paper. Allowed it to completely dry. You can add additional layers as desired.

IMG_6154

I later went back and touched up the light blue paint. It definitely needed 2 coats.

So, I had all my letters but the “I” right? Well in that same $1.50 bin I found:

A very large clothes pin. The same size as my letters!

IMG_6155

I made it work. It turned out pretty cute actually.

image_9

Wow, this craft would be easy to make again with different scrapbook paper, and even different phrases. Great gift idea.

|This could be a great craft project for any season or reason|

IMG_6188

…I walked in the living room and set down my new craft. About the time I snapped this picture, my husband quickly protested! He said he’s willing to tolerate all the girly stuff, but the be mine blocks sign was too much! It was the final straw I guess. ;^} He kindly asked that I tone down all the sappy love decor just a bit. haha. Oh how he makes me laugh. He was super sweet and kinda funny about it.

IMG_6187

Okay! It is getting a bit much. In order to keep the PEACE, the blocks were relocated. hee hee

They found they’re new home on the table across the room:

IMG_6195

I think this turned out well. You can’t even tell it’s a large clothespin unless you turn it to the side!!

IMG_6198

IMG_6197

   Happy Valentine’s Day!!

IMG_6194

One thought on “{{Be Mine Letter Blocks}}

Leave a Reply

